Official Newsjournal of the Illinois Council of Health-System Pharmacists

ICHP KeePosted

Print This Article

Annual Meeting Recap
2020 Annual Meeting

by Melissa Dyrdahl, BA; Communications Manager, ICHP

That’s a wrap! The 2020 ICHP Annual meeting is officially done (well technically you have until November 15, 2020 to submit your CPE credits – don’t delay!).  

This year’s meeting, much like this year in general, was unlike anything we’ve ever experienced. The Covid-19 pandemic had ICHP staff on a mission to figure out how we could safely bring you the high-quality pharmacy education that you’ve come to expect from our meetings. We researched various platforms and eventually decided to work with MCSV. (Sound familiar? MCS is the company we work with at our Annual Meeting each year at Drury Lane for our AV and booth needs). 

Overall we welcomed 350 attendees for our live programming in addition to a Reverse Exhibit for our pharmacy vendors and a Residency Showcase for students. More have registered for on-demand only continuing education. We had specialized technician programming, the latest in clinical research and even heard from ASHP’s Chief Executive Officer, Paul Abramowitz. 
Working hand-in-hand with MCSV we were able to offer up to 26.25 hours of programming (23.5 credit hours for pharmacists and 16.25 credit hours for pharmacy technicians) on the virtual platform, Pheedloop. Our meeting consisted of on-demand, live and semi-live presentations.  After the meeting all programming was transferred to on-demand for the remainder of the month – so if attendees missed a live session they could still check it out. 

Opening the meeting, ICHP’s president, Carrie Vogler announced our NEW officers, who include:
President – Jennifer Arnoldi
Immediate Past President – Carrie Vogler
Secretary – Bryan McCarthy
Director of Marketing Affairs – Denise Kolanczyk
Director of Educational Affairs – David Martin
Technician Representative – Rebecca Ohrmund
Chair of the New Practitioners Network – Marianne Pop
Chair of the Ambulatory Care Network – Bridget Dolan
Chair of the Pharmacy Informatics and Technology Network – Heather Harper
Chair of the Residency Leaders Network – Nora Flint

These officers will join our current roster of ICHP board member. We also want to thank our outgoing board members, Noelle Chapman, Ed Rainville, Bernice Man, Kristine VanKuiken, Natalie Tucker and Daniel Majerczyk for all their hard work over the last couple of years.

Carrie also took the opportunity to announce this year’s ICHP award winners. They are as follows:
The President’s Award – Bernice Man
Outstanding Volunteer – Milena Murray
New Practitioner Leadership Award – Natalie Tucker
Pharmacist of the Year – Starlin Haydon-Greatting
Amy Lodolce Mentorship Award – Jennifer Phillips
Pharmacy Technician of the Year – Richard Puccetti
Past President’s Award – Carrie Vogler
Shining Stars:

  • Jason Alegro
  • Scott Drabant
  • Brooke Griffin
  • Elizabeth Harthan
  • Denise Kolanczyk
  • Daniel Majerczyk
  • Andrew Merker
  • Justin Moore
  • Rebecca Ohrmund
  • Ehsan Tavassoli
  • Karin Terry
  • Tran Tran
Best Practice Award – Shannon Rotolo of UChicago Medicine for research on “Pharmacist Role in a Pediatric Lupus Clinic”
Student Chapter Award – University of Illinois Chicago College of Pharmacy (Chicago & Rockford).

Following the meeting we announced our 2020 Platform Presentation winners:

Megan Malone - Pharmacist Driven Immediate Discharge on Direct Oral Anticoagulant for Venous Thromboembolism from the Emergency Department
Aisha Shajee  - In Vitro Activity of Imipenem-relebactam Alone and in Combination with Fosfomycin Against Imipenem-nonsusceptible Pseudomonas aeruginosa

All in all, while this year’s meeting felt quite different (admit it – who watched Saturday’s session in their sweatpants? ☺), we feel proud that we were able to bring you great programming from some truly remarkable presenters. 

The 2021 ICHP/MSHP Spring Meeting is also going virtual. Planning is in the works. We hope you’ll join us for another virtual venture - March 19 & 20, 2021. Please stay safe and take care and hopefully by next fall we’ll be meeting face-to-face again.



Directly Speaking

President's Message

Crank's Corner


Board of Pharmacy Update

Government Affairs Report

ICHP Leadership Spotlight

ICHP Leadership Spotlight

New Practitioners Network


Public Education & Awareness Outreach Publication Subcommittee

Attention ASHP Pharmacist Members

Educational Affairs

Educational Affairs

Educational Affairs

Educational Affairs

Professional Affairs - CPE Opportunity!

Organizational Affairs


Staff Changes

Passing The Baton To Our Team

ICHP's Newest Affiliate Leaders

Opioid Task Force - CPE Opportunity

Annual Meeting Recap

College Connection

Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy

Rosalind Franklin University College of Pharmacy

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville School of Pharmacy

University of Illinois Chicago College of Pharmacy


Upcoming Events

Welcome New Members!

Pharmacy Action Fund Contributors

Board of Directors

ICHP Membership Application

Regularly Scheduled Network Meetings

Chicago Area Pharmacy Directors Network Dinner
3rd Thursday of Odd Months

Regularly Scheduled Division and Committee Calls

Executive Committee
Second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

Educational Affairs
Third Tuesday of each month at 11:00 a.m.

Government Affairs
Third Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m.

Marketing Affairs
Third Tuesday of each month at 8:00 a.m.

Organizational Affairs
Fourth Thursday of each month at 12:00 p.m.

Professional Affairs
Fourth Thursday of each month at 2:00 p.m.

New Practitioner Network
Second Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m.

Technology Committee
Second Friday of each month at 8:00 a.m.

Chicago Area Pharmacy Directors Network Dinner
Bi-monthly in odd numbered months with dates to be determined. Invitation only.

KeePosted Archives >>